Raindrops on Roses and Other Reasons Why I Love Rain

Unpopular opinion: I love the rain. If you’re from someplace where it’s constantly raining and you’ve been over it since the day you were born, you’re probably rolling your eyes right now. I do agree with you in some ways. I don’t like the way rain frizzes up my hair so I have a Monica Moment. I’m also not a big fan of constantly having to open and close an umbrella, or when you don’t have a hood so you keep your head down but the rain still hits that one spot on your forehead and you just pray to god that your makeup lives up to its waterproof title. Its never rains in Santa Barbara though, and the fact that we’ve been in a years long drought gives me the right to geek out a little bit. So sit down, make yourself a cup of tea, snuggle up in a blanket, and if it’s not raining right now pretend like it is because I’m about to tell you all the reasons I’m in love with rain.
img_3258-1

First of all, the rain gives me an excuse to stay inside all day. There’s nothing better than sitting on the couch snuggled up in blankets with a hot drink, my cat, and a good book, while watching rain fall outside the window. (An alternative title for this post is Why I Am Actually An 80 Year Old Woman.) Plus, no one can tell you to go outside and get some sun if it’s raining. It’s a foolproof way to start your life as a secluded hermit that only leaves their house once a decade.

I also love the rain because it helps me sleep. The pitter patter of raindrops on the roof lulls me to sleep like a lullaby and the creek below my window makes me feel like I’m in a cabin deep in the forest with no worries or responsibilities. The only downsides are it causes me to sleep way too late and if you need to pee it really sucks.

img_3256

Of course I love the rain because it makes everything look green and healthy, but I also love it because of the little things. The fashion, the sea of umbrellas, staring out the car window and pretending you’re in a music video. The smell of rain on asphalt. I also have a weird love of wearing heels in the rain. Either I love the sound they make or I just like feeling like I’m above the flood.

The fashion I especially love though. I don’t actually own a raincoat because, like I said, it rains every 85 years here, but the image of a bright yellow raincoat and polka dot rain boots make me really happy. Also trench coats and sheer tights under dresses and bubble umbrellas and scarves…*sigh*img_3255

I cold go on forever about why I love rain, but I’ll end it here before you get bored. What’s your favorite thing  about the rain? Do you even like the rain? Let’s discuss! Thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Sonja

Leave a Reply

