Learning To Drive 101

It has happened. After six months of painful procrastination, I’ve finally conned my way into getting my driver’s permit. Just kidding…maybe. And after a total of two times driving I can safely say that I’m a completely average driver and I don’t have any funny/ disastrous stories to tell…yet. On the other hand, it was an experience.

Personally, I can’t wait until I can listen to music in the car. I just want to recreate the stereotypical movie scene with friends singing along to a peppy pop song at the beginning of a road trip during a summer montage. Unfortunately, professionals call it a “safety hazard” for new drivers and “distracting”. So now I can’t listen to that song from the Lizzie McGuire movie from 2003 that’s been stuck in my head for the past two weeks. The car that I’ve inherited doesn’t have an aux cord though, so that’s taken away some of the temptation for listening to music because all I can listen to is the radio and my mom’s Lady Antebellum CD.

Speaking of the car I’m inheriting, it’s not in as bad of shape as some, but it still has some noteworthy downfalls. Besides its award-winning record of breaking down and the fact that it doesn’t have an aux cord, the passenger side door’s inside has fallen off before, and ever since it was fixed you can feel it jiggle and give a little as you close the door, as if any moment it could completely give up and break free.

I’ve only been driving out in civilization and around people once and it was with a driving instructor. Also, it was terrifying. Not as terrifying when I remember he had a brake, but still moderately terrifying. I don’t know how I’m gonna feel when I go out with my mom, but I’m expecting more feelings of panic and terror and me praying that I don’t drive off a cliff. Thankfully, I have a calm mom who doesn’t freak out and scream like there’s an axe murderer chasing us if I roll over a curb, but I’m sorry for anyone who does. Driving’s scary enough as it is without someone constantly screaming because they think they’re gonna die when you’re at a complete stop in your driveway.

I may do a part two of this when I’ve driven more and have specific experiences. Like one time my dad was driving and a bear ran across the road. I’ll wait till that happens to me. But for now that’s all I’ve gotta say. Do you drive? What was your experience learning like? Tell me in the comments! Thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Sonja

Leave a Reply

