Sonja’s Sweet Tooth : Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

This last weekend I got a surge of baking motivation. Watching incredible one minute videos on Instagram of baking masterpieces didn’t cut it anymore. It had been a while since I had actually baked something in the oven and my inner Julia Child was begging to come out.

I knew I really wanted to bake cookies and chocolate chip cookies are my favorite, but I couldn’t just bake chocolate chip cookies. There had to be something special about them. I remembered that years ago my mom had made mint chocolate chip cookies and for some reason they had stuck in my head, so I thought that was a good a reason as any to make them again. I asked my mom about them and she found me the recipe from one of her many, many cookbooks. Looking through, I realized it was a vegan recipe, but because I don’t hate myself, I decided to not make it vegan. The recipe I’m including is vegan though, so if you are all about that, I got you.

 

Pro tip: When forming the cookies, they can get super sticky and only want to stick to your hands and not itself, so wash off your hands a few times while making them so they’re easier to form. Also, the recipe says this makes eight cookies, but mine turned out enormous, so I would suggest making more.

The great thing about this recipe is that it includes very minimal cleanup work. I love baking, but I absolutely loathe the cleanup after because it literally takes me eight hours and a million liters of water to get it done. Thankfully, this recipe only left me with two bowls and a spatula to clean.

If you love mint and pretending to be healthy, then you should really try out this recipe. It’s super easy to make and is amazingly good. I actually went on a weekend trip after I made these and when I got back they were all gone, but my sister was suspiciously quiet when I asked so I think I know where they went. Do you like to bake? What’s your favorite type of cookie? Tell me in the comments! Thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Sonja

Leave a Reply

