Concert Tips for the Anxiously Awkward

I have only been to three concerts ever. The first was a Colbie Caillat concert that I went to with my mom and sister and was really chill and laid back. The second was a bunch of different groups performing that I had a traumatic experience at and don’t like to talk about. And the third was to a Two Door Cinema Club and Grouplove concert just recently. Because of the dreaded second concert experience that I don’t talk about, I had an aversion to concerts for years until I went to this third one. And I had good reasons too. Crowded places give me anxiety, loud music makes me feel like I’m going deaf, and chill dancing isn’t my forte. I don’t know what came over me, but when my friend asked me if I wanted to go to a concert later that day I said yes. It had been years since I had gone to a concert and I was thinking maybe this time would be different than the last. It also helped that I liked Two Door Cinema Club already, so I knew what music was going to be played. And what would you know, miraculously enough, I actually had a lot of fun. There were a lot of things that I did differently than last time that definitely made it a better experience, so I wanted to share those things to help you out if you’re feeling scared to go to a concert or don’t know what to expect.

1.Go with someone you’re 100% comfortable with

If you’re already nervous about going to a concert, it’s only going to be added stress going with someone that you’re not completely comfortable with. You’re gonna want a friend there to help find your seats with you and be there for you if you feel overwhelmed. Also, it’s just much more fun having your bestie there to share the experience with.

2.Get seats!

Trust me, if big groups of people make you anxious, do not get tickets for the pit. I repeat DO NOT get tickets for the pit. Everyone is jostling together in the pit and there’s nowhere to sit down at the awkward moment in the performance where no one is really dancing yet because it’s light out but they’re still bobbing their heads along with the music. Also, I’m pretty sure you can swim through the weed down there. Seats are so much nicer and you can take a needed break at any time during the performance.

3.Wear something comfortable

Don’t wear your pajamas but also don’t wear your homecoming dress that’s way too tight with 4-inch heels. Wear something that you’re comfortable in but still look good in. Effortlessly chic maybe. You’re gonna be up on your feet a lot so make sure you’re wearing comfortable shoes too.

4.Stop caring!

I am the most awkward person I know, so I knew that I was definitely dancing like an uncoordinated giraffe. At the beginning, I wasn’t used to it, but as the night went on I got into it and I finally just stopped caring about what I looked like and danced. Being self-conscious about dancing only makes you look more awkward, so just know that everyone around you is too drunk or high to judge your limb flailing dance. You went there to listen to music and dance, so do it and have fun because nobody else cares what you look like.

There are probably a lot of other things you could do to help with your concert experience, but those are the things that jumped out at me personally. Do you like concerts? What has been your favorite concert so far? Tell me in the comments! Thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Sonja

 

Leave a Reply

