AP Test Stress Sesh

AP tests are coming up and like every other average high school student, I’m desperately trying to cram information into my brain while also spending 90% of my time watching YouTube videos and reruns on Netflix. It’s now a week before my World History exam and I am most definitely in denial. I have started studying, but I definitely should have started a while ago and now I’m just hoping that only knowing the basics will be enough to get me by. I mean, I can’t stress out about studying if I don’t study at all…right?

My avoidance of studying definitely came from my perfectionist tendencies and the fact that I’ve always been an overachiever. I know that if I’m not gonna do as well as I want to, then I’ll just avoid doing that thing to avoid failing. Basically, I’m putting off failing so that I can just forget about my responsibilities and keep thinking I’m a perfect student. Also, I definitely read about this somewhere, I’m not smart enough to come up with it on my own.

So what I’ve been doing is cramming as much in as possible into a brain that only retains song lyrics and drinking copious amounts of coffee so I can maybe feel somewhat prepared for a test that I was supposed to be preparing for the entire year. I love school.

This is the first time that I’ve really studied for a test. Like review the whole year type of studying. Because of this I really had no idea what type of studying worked best for me. When I watched history YouTube videos I would always get sucked in to my subscription box and and then end up watching 8 hours worth of Buzzfeed videos. But when I tried to read the book my mind would always wander and I would finish a page and have no idea what I had just read. I found that watching videos on a site that isn’t YouTube and taking notes while watching the video has helped me the best, but I still am sometimes pulled to my other tabs.

Hopefully if you’re taking AP tests you’re a better student than me. How do you study? Or do you just not study at all? Also, tell me if you relate to this because it’ll make me feel a lot better knowing there are more people that are just of a mess as I am. Thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Sonja

Leave a Reply

