When In Rome

This post is going to be a throwback to last summer when I went to Italy because I’m stressing out over AP tests and would otherwise have nothing to write about but late nights studying and the amount of coffee you can consume without going crazy. So instead I’m going to write about my experience in Rome so you don’t leave this post feeling depressed.

Rome was absolutely amazing…and incredibly hot. I think by the end of the trip I was actually a dry husk because I had sweat all the moisture out of my body. Besides that it was incredible. There was history on every corner and walking down the cobbled roads felt like being at a theme park with all the vendors and little restaurants lining them. I was lucky enough to be able to stay at an absolutely beautiful hotel, and my favorite thing to do to escape the heat was sit in one of the rooms with couches and little tables and a grande piano in the corner, get a cup coffee, and relax. After walking around all day in the blazing sun, it was a nice breather.

That being said, the monuments in Rome are breathtaking. We didn’t get to go into the Colosseum, but we did walk around it and it felt like taking a step back into ancient rome, besides all the tourists walking around gawking through their camera lenses. But I can’t complain about that seeing as I definitely was one. Another was the Trevi Fountain. I loved seeing the statues of Roman gods in all the architecture because I’ve always loved Greek and Roman mythology, and Rome did not disappoint. The one thing I regret is that I didn’t throw a coin into the fountain to make sure I come back one day, but I still think I will. We went to so many more places, but the last I wanted to talk about is the Sistine Chapel. It was so cool seeing the ceiling that I had learned so much about and actually seeing up close how detailed it is.

Have you ever been to Rome? Do you want to go back? Tell me in the comments! Thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Sonja

 

One thought on “When In Rome

Leave a Reply

